Kampfer Ep. 11

Deus ex… sea slug?

I’m impressed. The entire plot is introduced and resolved in this tidy episode, leaving 1-10 purely for fanservice. Of course, it’s not as if there isn’t fanservice in this episode. Oh no no no… there is a ton of it here. We get not one but two transformation sequences; the latter would make Goku proud:

The show really could have made a good parody of shit like DBZ too, but I don’t know why it took so long to get to this point.

How often do we watch macho guys just rip clothes off of each other homoerotically?

Kampfer really brings out the absurdity of this trope.

Aren’t we so ready to sexualize these girls when they’re merely fighting one another? You might protest, of course, that the anime itself provides the sexualization–who could see this screenshot of Shizuku and Kaede any other way? The girls aren’t doing any real damage to their opponents but simply ripping (shooting, cutting, etc.) their opponent’s clothes off. If this isn’t fanservice, then what is? But think about it… when Goku and Vegeta are ramming their sweaty muscular bodies together and into other people, we hardly sexualize that. They almost never do any real damage to each other either (seeing as how they keep coming back to life with convenient plot devices), and if that isn’t fanservice, then what is? Would a DBZ fan walk away from a fight happy if both men weren’t stripped down to their waists, their chests gleaming from their SSJ (almost orgasmic) glow? On the other hand, we are so quick to jump the gun when girls are involved.

Most will see Kampfer as nothing but food for fapworthy thought and that’s probably what the creators intended.

But this was the campiest episode I’ve seen in recent history. Where else can you find giant, neon stuffed animals singing “Ode to Joy” while girls beat the crap out of each other?

7 thoughts on “Kampfer Ep. 11

  1. KizukuKanshi

    Thing is, this was probably their funniest episode and they didn’t even mean it to be. Of all types of endings I hate in a bad way, rushed endings have to be some of the worst. I thought I’d never see a more rushed ending than I did in Pandora Hearts, but this has got to take the cake, considering they still didn’t explain most of why the hell we were watching this show, story-wise. I’m in no way disappointed, though, ’cause that whole “giant, neon stuffed animals” thing had me laughing long after the show was over. XD

    Reply
    1. E Minor Post author

      It didn’t look expensive to produce and seemed popular from what I’ve heard. I wouldn’t be surprised to see a sequel.

      Reply
  2. Ghost In The Shell

    There were plenty of revelations, really, but they were soooo not-funny-at-all that it wasn’t even worth waiting for these disclosure. It was all unfolded at such a little amount of time, it almost didn’t say anything!

    To me it was the worst episode. I liked she series until episode then, but I was also watching because I wanted to know the reason why they fight and who Sakura was and stuff but when it was poorly explained…

    Reply
    1. E Minor Post author

      I thought the meta-reality of the show was kinda funny, personally. The creators knew that the “meaning” of the show sucked. A proxy fight for a galaxy far, far away? Talk about generic. We all know sex sells, so let’s just leave the plot development till the last minute and milk the stupidity of the show for all its worth. Since I never really cared why they were fighting, the episode’s blase approach ended up being pretty funny to me. I wouldn’t watch the series again, but it ended okay.

      Reply
  3. TriHeart

    Yeah this anime is a complete epic fail, the plot is just out of sequence. They probably need 2 wrap it up quick before they run out of ideas. I only watch this because of the fan service it provides haha.

    Reply
  4. TP

    @E Minor:

    But this was the campiest episode I’ve seen in recent history. Where else can you find giant, neon stuffed animals singing “Ode to Joy” while girls beat the crap out of each other?

    I. Just. Killed. Myself.

    Reply
    1. E Minor Post author

      Well, like I said, I saw it as an unintentional parody of similar shows and it made me laugh. Your mileage may vary.

      Reply

Please refrain from posting spoilers or using derogatory language. Basically, don't be an asshole.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.